Roast Vegetables and Chicken Breast for a Winter’s Night Dinner

IMG_6418

I haven’t made this for a while but seems like a perfect dinner with Mr and a movie at home!

Grab whatever root veggies you like. I go with parsnip (first time I had parsnip was a soup at Heathrow. Discovered my new BFF!), onion (I tend to use red), yam or sweet potato. You can also add carrots and roasting potatoes.

IMG_6407

Cut up your veggies into cubes or thickish slivers (with the parsnip and carrot). Drop them into a large bowl. Add a good amount of olive oil and sea salt.

IMG_6417
Grab a 3 Quart (9×13) Pyrex dish. Put 2 to 3 seasoned chicken breasts in the middle. Add your vegetables around the meat.

IMG_6425

For chicken seasoning, I use Johnny’s (we use Johnny’s all the time for seasoning meat).

IMG_6419

You can also add Herbs de Provence – gives the chicken a rustic, delicious flavor. You can also add your favorite herbs like Rosemary or Thyme.

Cover with foil and bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Halfway through the bake time, uncover the dish and gently stir the vegetables.

honeyAfter the 45 minutes are up, uncover the foil. Add a drizzle of honey. I know this isn’t an A-Grade honey, but it just makes me smile so that’s why I use it 🙂

Pump up the oven to 400 and then bake uncovered for 15 minutes. If you like your veggies to be on the crispier more caramelized side, put the oven at 425. But if you do go to 425, be sure to grab your foil and place it on top of the chicken, otherwise the meat will turn out burnt and dried out.

I know this recipe isn’t super drawn out but you really don’t need to over think this. It’s super easy. Trust me.

ws

Confession to make… This wasn’t actually my finished product (it’s courtesy of Williams-Sonoma). Mr and I were so hungry that I forgot to snap a completed photo before we devoured the dish. It’s that good!

Leave a Reply

