Love actually is all around us…

I himagesCAB7WBO5ave been wanting to start a blog for years and after watching “Love Actually” last night I figured this was as good a time as ever to dive in since, well, I’ll actually have something to write about. So here I go…

It’s Christmas time and that means Mr. and I have a movie date with Richard Curtis’ wonderful movie, “Love Actually.” (I love this movie!) It’s delightful and bittersweet to watch Curtis’ characters journey toward (and sometimes, away from) love. I am hopelessly in love with Romantic Comedies and this movie ranks among my top 10.  I mean, seriously, who doesn’t love the scene between Liam Neeson and his stepson, Sam. Liam, concerned with Sam’s sullenness, asks the young boy if something’s wrong. When Sam tells him that he is in love, a relieved Liam tells Sam that he thought the boy’s problem was much worse. Looking at Liam, Sam responds incredulously, “Worse than the total agony of being in love?” At which point Liam stops himself and realizes that Sam is, for better or worse, pretty much right. Such a sweet, funny moment. One of many touching scenes in the movie.

The other quote I love is when Colin Firth proposes to Aurelia, his Portuguese housekeeper. Aurelia’s response, in broken English, is “Yes is being my answer.” I kept saying that all night… I think I made Mr. a bit nervous (we’re not married — yet…)

So, moving on from the movie since this is a blog not IMDB, after all.  I live in Cave Creek, Arizona in a beautiful Tuscan style home alongside Mr. (my hero, my boyfriend), Odie (a goofy 130 pound American bulldog) and Indy (a mutt from East LA). I love cookbooks, sharing recipes, entertaining, picking lemons from our yard, buying boots of all kinds, camping, animals (especially dogs), and Romantic Comedies. I’m guessing most of my blog posts will be about these topics and anything else life throws my way.

Image courtesy of Universal Pictures

4 thoughts on “Love actually is all around us…

    • And you know that your “Poke Chop” recipe is going to make it onto my blog!! Thanks for the Christmas letter and photo; it’s nice to know what you and your Viking are up to these days!

  1. One of my favorite movies of all time. Those are great scenes. Another fave line – “Let’s go get our ass kicked by love!” The American bar scene is a classic as well – I once posted how I found myself in a very similar situation. Great blog btw!

Leave a Reply

